If you request to deactivate your BIC from the SWIFTNet FIN network before 6 April 2019 and to retain your BIC, your BIC will expire and it will be replaced by a new BIC with ‘1’ in the eight position (= BIC1) If you wish to retain the same BIC that you have had up until now, you will need to request an implementation date of 6 April 2019 or later. To ensure that we correctly implement your e-form, we request that you carefully select the appropriate implementation date in function of the above By way of background, the end of the transition phase for SWIFT’s implementation of the revised ISO 9362 standard BIC was 17 November 2018. The most significant change arising from the new standard is that the characters in BIC codes will cease to have any significance. As a result, no processes will be triggered in future by the value of particular characters in the code; in particular, the 8th character of the BIC will no longer signify that a BIC is or isn’t connected to the SWIFTNet FIN network. Users should have made the necessary changes to their systems ahead of the end of the implementation period (17 November 2018), however, to avoid impacting users’ message flows, SWIFT introduced changes on the network and in its back-office systems, and is now performing end-to-end testing. As a result, the changes will not be active in the production environment and visible to users before the end of March 2019.
The customer must always notify SWIFT in advance of its intention to terminate SWIFT services and products (typically, three months or, in case of termination of a service administration agreement, 12 months). The termination rules are detailed in the Pricing and Invoicing terms and conditions.
Deactivate a BIC
Use one form per BIC deactivation.
A SWIFT user that wants to deactivate from one of the SWIFT messaging services, should consult the appropriate service description.
A SWIFT user that deactivates from all SWIFT services will automatically resign as a SWIFT user.
Ensure that all outstanding payments are settled before you request a deactivation.
A BIC deactivation is synchronised with the BIC directory download activation dates.
A deactivation impacts all the associated branch codes, Test and Training BICs, related PKI and service subscriptions. As a consequence, the deactivated BIC will not be able to send, receive messages or files as from the deactivation date.
A deactivation can affect other BICs that use your infrastructure. It is your responsibility to inform all potential users who could be impacted by the decommissioning of your infrastructure.
Make sure your message queues are emptied before the deactivation date and time.
Note that T&T BIC/BEI linked to your primary BIC8/BEI8 cannot be deactivated independently from the deactivation of your primary BIC8/BEI8.
- Please note that if you want to keep your non-connected BIC (BIC1) after the deactivation, you need to provide a "Certificate of incorporation" (in English).
Send your request to E2E-Reference-Data.firstname.lastname@example.org and do not forget to include the e-order reference number.
Terminate an additional Test & Training BIC
T&T BIC/BEI linked to your primary BIC8/BEI8 can not be deactivated independently from the deactivation of your primary BIC8/BEI8. Deactivation of a primary BIC includes the deactivation of its associated Test and Training BIC.