BIC Deactivation

The customer must always notify SWIFT in advance of its intention to terminate SWIFT services and products (typically, three months or, in case of termination of a service administration agreement, 12 months). The termination rules are detailed in the Pricing and Invoicing terms and conditions.

Understanding the ordering process

Find out how to place your order, track your order and request high priority or emergency handling.

Deactivate a BIC

Use one form per BIC deactivation.

  • A SWIFT user that wants to deactivate from one of the SWIFT messaging services, should consult the appropriate service description.

  • A SWIFT user that deactivates from all SWIFT services will automatically resign as a SWIFT user.

 

  • Ensure that all outstanding payments are settled before you request a deactivation.

 

  • A BIC deactivation is synchronised with the BIC directory download activation dates.

  • A deactivation impacts all the associated branch codes, Test and Training BICs, related PKI and service subscriptions. As a consequence, the deactivated BIC will not be able to send, receive messages or files as from the deactivation date.

  • A deactivation can affect other BICs that use your infrastructure. It is your responsibility to inform all potential users who could be impacted by the decommissioning of your infrastructure.

  • Make sure your message queues are emptied before the deactivation date and time.

  • Note that T&T BIC/BEI linked to your primary BIC8/BEI8 cannot be deactivated independently from the deactivation of your primary BIC8/BEI8.

 

  • Please note that if you want to keep your non-connected BIC (BIC1) after the deactivation, you need to provide a "Certificate of incorporation" (in English). Send your request to E2E-Reference-Data.generic@swift.com and do not forget to include the e-order reference number.

Do you have any questions?

Contact us to find out how we can help you.